President’s Message 2021

All IESLA Community-

Thank you for finding our new and improved website. We are living in unprecedented times. Our board is committed to keeping the section active and involved. We decided at the beginning of the pandemic to keep our monthly, Emerging Professionals and Techfast events virtual and free of charge. The events have been successful and often attract over 100 attendees.

Within the Board this year we welcomed (3) new board members; Derick Sheehan (MPA), Kate Furst (Visual Terrain) and Caitlin Mulligan Ankony (SCI). All three members are dedicated and committed to the goals of the Society. Derick has been instrumental in developing the Product Fair and will soon take over the duties of Treasurer. Kate’s hard work on the student design competition has been an inspiration to everyone. She is also active in IALD and leading IESLA’s commitment to changing the future demographic of the profession. Caitlin is a longtime section Emerging Professionals Chair and active at the Society level. She created a groundwork for the current Emerging Professionals to take things to the next level.

Also, Travis Fritson (Henderson Engineering) and Chris Bright (LDA) took over leading the Emerging Professionals and set up monthly committee meetings which keeps attracting bright young professionals.

I want to thank everyone who has helped plan events, attended a meeting or followed us on social media. We are a volunteer organization and the best gift we have is people’s dedication and time. We are always ready to hear your ideas.

The new reality of 2020-2021 will be lasting and it has been difficult at times, but we believe the section has grown stronger and understood it’s role within the profession. Cheers to 2021 and the future!